The Real Senate Democrats

by Wayne Spencer - June 20, 2008

With all the talk and outrage about illegal wiretapping and spying on Americans by the Bush Administration together with the twenty-five percent approval rating of this president one would think that it would take very little courage to vote against approval of the evesdropping bill. Yet, not a single Republican had the courage to vote against the blatantly unconstitutional measure and worse yet, only twenty-eight Democrats and one independant could be counted on to protect our constitutional right to privacy. Their need for campaign contributions from the telecoms trumps our constitutional rights.

Because these twenty-nine senators did have that couage I proudly list their names here:

Akaka (D-HI), Biden (D-DE), Bingaman (D-NM), Boxer (D-CA), Brown (D-OH), Byrd (D-WV), Cantwell (D-WA), Cardin (D-MD), Dodd (D-CT), Dorgan (D-ND), Durbin (D-IL), Feingold (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Harkin D-IA), Kennedy (D-MA), Kerry (D-MA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Leahy (D-VT), Levin (D-MI), Menendez (D-NJ), Murray (D-WA), Reed (D-RI), Reid (D-NV), Sanders (I-VT), Schumer (D-NY), Stabenow (D-MI), Tester (D-MT), Wyden (D-OR)

In particular, Senator Dodd of Connecticut spoke for twenty hours trying to convince his colleagues to defend the constitutional rights of Americans.

When election time comes around for these fine Senators make sure you remember them with your support and your vote. You can bet that they aren't going to get any campaign contributions from the telecoms.

Next we will look at the final House vote on this issue.

Readers comments are always welcomed and when possible publshed.

To receive Wayne's e-mail commentaries click here

Copyright © 2008 by Wayne Spencer - This article may be freely distributed with this copyright notice attached.